Ferraby Lionheart – Catch The Brass Ring (2007)

12.07.2009

The label certain artists get when they are considered “The Next…” must be so complimentary and nerve-racking.  I don’t want to push any associations in your head with major talents and “if you’re a fan of…” because Ferraby Lionheart deserves to be listened to with open ears.  He was a songwriter when I first heard and read about him, but I wanted to just let him know he was his own artist.  I read a couple reviews that said he was donned the next Elliott Smith, but his songwriting stands on its own without being compared to a timeless artist of our generation.  I can hear Lionheart probably enjoys the recordings of Smith but he has his own voice and songs.  He possesses a great knack for catchy melodies, thought-provoking lyrics, and a sweet sense of tranquility.  I go back to this album quite a bit when I am in certain situations or moods.  It makes me relaxed and happy to be a musician myself.  I am not sure what Ferraby is doing currently, but I am excited for his next album and finally seeing him perform live.

For Fans Of: Elliott Smith, Townes Van Zandt, Simon Joyner, Ryan Adams, Fleet Foxes, J. Tillman, Destroyer, John Lennon

Standout Tracks: “Small Planet”, “Under the Texas Sky”

Buy

-Steve

Leave a Reply

