Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci – The Blue Trees EP (2001)

11.12.2009

The Blue TreesOne of the very first bands to strike a chord with me not only musically but also emotionally was Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci.  The Welsh band was like nothing else I had ever heard.  Songs would rotate between English and Welsh and the instrumentation was mesmerizing.  I started to judge my whole CD collection by Gorky’s.  I would turn a page and think to myself, “can this even be near my Gorky’s albums?” I ended up throwing away burnt CDs and actual albums based off of Gorky’s.  I remember the day I first heard this album, “The Blue Trees,”  I was on a road trip with some friends in college and most of them weren’t into indie music.  I threw on the album and instantly was asking everyone else in the car, “Isn’t this amazing?” I was blown away by the happiness and sunshine flowing through the speakers.  Most of their melodies leading up to this point had been behind a wall of slight distortion and this record was raw and inviting.  I still to this day throw this record on in the summer to make the sun shine a little brighter, or to break the gloom of winter when it has set in.  Beautiful melodies, pretty acoustic guitar and strings, whisper-sweet vocals,  great percussion, subtle bass, and catchy refrains fill this record to the brim.  Most people don’t necessarily know Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci and it makes me extremely sad.  When bands like Belle & Sebastian, The Strokes, and others were blaring on indie radio, Gorky’s was playing half-full venues here in the states.  Wales always hailed them for their music, when we here across the ocean letting them get pushed under the rug.  Please listen to this record and enjoy the intimate moments with me.

Standout Tracks: “This Summer Has Been Good From the Start” “Fresher Than the Sweetness in Water”

‘What good is the sun if you haven’t got love” – “Lady Fair”

“Just as a light shines what’s up ahead, I heard it all in what you said, cause what you got is sweeter than water” – “Fresher Than the Sweetness in Water”

For Fans Of: Belle & Sebastian, Mojave 3, Nick Drake, Super Furry Animals, The Zombies

Buy

-Steve

Leave a Reply

